Commitment to Diversity

Commitment to Diversity

We are committed to addressing the unemployment and underemployment of youth, newcomers to Canada, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities and other individuals facing barriers to employment, and to successful business ownership and entrepreneurship.

With digital matching technology, Magnet enables job seekers to privately and securely self-identify as a member of any employment equity group, promoting diversity and supporting bias-free recruitment strategies.

We also have partnerships with business support organizations who share our commitment to helping small and medium businesses to grow through better access to trade, export and procurement opportunities.

Our Diversity Partner


Mark Patterson
Executive Director

Mark Patterson is a changemaker pioneering new approaches to driving social and economic change. As Executive Director, Mark led the creation of Magnet, a social innovation platform based at Ryerson University.

A first-of-its-kind in North America, Magnet harnesses intelligent matching technology, data and analytics to effectively connect people, businesses, and organizations to opportunity.

With the singular goal of helping Canadian communities and the people that call them home, Mark is a passionate driver of productive collaboration. He presents on topics such as “inclusive” economic development, the future of work and workforce, and career development.

Mark serves on the following boards:

Advisory Board member on the “Employers’ Partnership Table” in support of Access Talent: Ontario’s Employment Strategy for People with Disabilities

National Stakeholder Advisory for the Labour Market Information Council (LMIC)

Advisory Board for Ontario’s Office of the Fairness Commissioner, which overseas regulated professions in the province of Ontario

Advisory Board member for “Ventures for Canada”, which recruits, trains, and supports recent graduates to work at Canadian startups in need of talent, with the mission of fostering entrepreneurship

Anica Vasic

Austin Hracs

Devon Franklin

Ian Hartlen

Susie Mangar

Haneen Tamari

Trishan Kuven

Henri Dardha